I Scout. Therefore, I am.

“I Scout, therefore I am.”

Hailey Workman- Relationship Manager, EF Tours for Girl Scouts

Looking back to the last few years of my life, I’ve frequently asked the question “How did I get here?” Each time the answer has always led back to scouting.

Currently, I am working as a Relationship Manager at EF Tours for Girl Scouts. I reach out and work with Girl Scout councils across the country to make travel accessible to as many girls as possible. This position happened across my path after three years with the Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois, where I had the privilege of working with Coleen on our travel pathway. Together we led a tour for Girl Scouts through Europe using EF Tours in 2011.

Coleen was the volunteer who took me on my first international trip in 2003. I would not have been ready for this trip had it not been for the older girl planning committee I was a part of. I worked with my peers to plan regional trips for other Girl Scouts in eastern Iowa and western Illinois. Trips helped me discover the world outside of my backyard, connect with girls from all across our council and share those experiences with younger Girl Scouts and community organizations.

Little did I know, a path was being set in place for me. Not only in high school when I attended that first travel meeting with my parents, but the day I became a Girl Scout when I was 5. I can definitely say that participating in the Girl Scout Leadership Experience, even before it was named that, has shaped my career and life as I know it today. Had I not had those guided experiences and positive role models throughout my life, I would not have had the courage to move across the country, away from my family and friends and still feel confident in knowing I am able to succeed anywhere. Because of Scouting, I am.

This entry was posted in Experience, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

