Traveling as a Girl Scout: A Girl’s Testimony

I traveled in 2009 to Washington D.C., Philadelphia and New York for 8 days and in 2011 to Europe for 18 days, all with Girl Scouts.

These trips were awesome and gave me an opportunity to see things I had never seen and I learned so much about history.

The trip to Europe was the best trip I had ever been on. Being able to go on this trip, took a lot of work earning money to help pay for it; my parents did not have to pay for it all because of the work I did. I took advantage of every opportunity to raise money for the trip. This was tough and took a lot of self-discipline and hard work.

Was I nervous about traveling overseas? You bet I was. I had never flown before and had never been out of the country. The trip was an opportunity to see a lot of exciting places and get to know fellow travelers. You learn responsibility quickly as you are responsible for your own passport, money, personal items, getting up on time, etc. You learn to be flexible because things do not always go according to schedule.

With time change and lots of walking (over 115 miles), I was exhausted when I got home yet I would tell anyone if you ever have a chance to travel with Girl Scouts to do it. It will be a trip you will never forget.

Because of my opportunities to travel with Girl Scouts, I am a stronger person and am confident that I could travel anywhere in the world.

-Testimony from Emily Eickert

Give your girl the opportunity to grow as Emily did with the 2015 International Trip to Europe. Register her today!

About Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois

We build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
Quote | This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

