A Girl Scout Close Up!

Meet Katy Conger, shop associate at the Burlington Retail Shop in the Burlington Area Leadership Center!

Katy Conger

What is your favorite color? My favorite color would have to be different shades of grey, for some reason they just pop out at me and they go with just about anything. But don’t get me wrong, I love the bright colors as well; Pink, Red, Neon Blue!!

What is your favorite food? Hmm..Favorite food? That would probably have to be a well done steak made by my father. And well, pizza of course!!

What are you listening to right now? Carrie Underwood, she is my favorite!! I also listen to about almost anything. I love music, it always seems to put me in a better mood.

Why did you join Girl Scouts? I joined Girl Scouts because I was looking for a job that I can grow at and learn new things, open up my eyes to something different. I am so thankful for my job! There are challenges, but I love a challenge.

What do you like best about Girl Scouts? What I like best about Girl Scouts? Good question… I like my fellow co-workers, they are awesome!! And I also like the smile on the girl’s faces when they come into the leadership center, the way there eyes light up is great!

What is the best part about being a Girl Scout shop associate? Best part about being a Girl Scout shop associate is helping the girls get them there Girl Scout uniform so they the can began a journey that will change their life forever!! It’s very rewarding!!

What would you change about the world? Changing the world? Gosh, I wish I could change a lot of things, but changing the world would be a hard job to do! But one thing I am really strong about it is the “Golden Rule” treat others how you want to be treated. You never know how you are impacting someone’s life with just one word or action.

What can people look forward to when they shop at our retail shops? They can always look forward to a smiling face! :) And someone who is more than willing to help them find what they need.

How is shopping at one of our retail shops different than other shopping experience? Our retail shops are different than others because you will get a more one on one experience. We are never too busy to answer any questions you have for us. We are happy to help you find what you need to make your Girl Scout happy is what we want!!

What is your favorite item for sale right now in our retail shops? My favorite item in the shop right now is the $24.95 Girl Scout Fleece jacket, it’s not too heavy and not light, its PERFECT!!! I also like our Council Own tote bags, such a great price of $10.50.

Happy Holidays! We hope you are enjoying time with family this time of year; our staff are enjoying spending time with family as well. Although you are important to us, we won’t respond to blog comments during the down time of December 23, 2013 – January 1, 2014. Thank you for reading and we’ll see you in 2014!

About Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois

We build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

