A Girl Scout Close Up!

Meet Breanne Walstead, our Outdoor Leadership Experience Intern!20140111_133140_resized

Tell us a little bit about yourself:

I am currently a student at University of Wisconsin-Platteville. I am working toward my Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology. I am considering working towards an emphasis in human services, or gaining my social work certificate along with my B.S. in psychology. This is my fourth year at UW-P and my first internship experience! I am expecting to graduate next spring, May 2015. I will be continuing school and work towards a Master’s degree in the future.

Why are you excited about this internship opportunity with Girl Scouts and Outdoor Programming?

Through my internship experience with Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois, I want to develop marketing strategies for non-profit organizations, while gaining knowledge of Girl Scouts missions and goals. I will achieve personal growth, build confidence by taking on new challenges, and gain practical human service experience that I can put forth in my future career goals. This internship will provide me with the management experience to be successful in my future career.

Were you ever a Girl Scout growing up?

I was a Girl Scout throughout elementary and middle school. My favorite part was selling cookies. My mother helped me sell cookies, and we sold over 900 boxes in one season! I was rewarded with a 2 week stay at Camp Ehawee near Lacrosse, Wisconsin. I remember getting up at 6 a.m. to take a dive into the freezing cold swimming pool, and it was so much fun! Our camp counselor even snuck us into the kitchen during the night to eat some cookie dough! I met so many nice girls at camp, and made many new friends. Girl Scout camp was the best experience I had during my childhood. Every Girl Scout should try it!

What’s up with this fun photo of you? It looks like you when somewhere sunny and warm!

During my winter break from school, I escaped the cold and snow to visit my Aunt Diane in Prescott, Arizona. While I was there I got outside  a lot, including many hiking trips up Thumb Butte Mountain. We hiked for four hours one morning and still didn’t reach the top of the mountain! We also enjoyed some sightseeing and wildlife watching while boating and fishing at the Lynx Lake.

What have you been working on recently as a part of your internship?

I’ve done a lot of planning for some events coming up at our camps. We have a lot of day or overnight events coming up including Blaze Your Trail, a backpacking overnight at Camp Tahigwa and Wilderness Girls at Camp L-Kee-Ta. Visit our website to view our calendar of all the fun outdoor events we have planned for this spring and summer!

About Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois

We build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Outdoor Program and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

