Where Are They Now?

A Girl Scout experience, of any length, influences a girl’s life. We’re taking time to catch up with some past Girl Scout Ambassadors to see how they are, what they are up to, and how their experience as a Girl Scout effected the¬†beyond their childhood. Today, we’re catching up with Rachel Reimann, 2013 Girl of Confidence scholarship recipient.

Rachel Reimann

1. What are you doing now?

Right now I am a first-year student attending Luther College in Decorah, Iowa. My major is somewhat undecided, but I applied to the Athletic Training program here. If all goes as planned, I will also minor in Psychology and find out if I made the Athletic Training program in April. Since I go to college, I do not have much else to do! Doing well in school is one of my main goals on my list. I also work in the cafeteria, but if I get accepted, athletic training would be my work for the rest of college. As for work this summer, I will be a camp counselor at Luther Park in Chetek, Wisconsin. It should be super fun!

2. What are you dreaming of for your future?

My dreams for the future include minoring in Psychology, excelling in school, and either getting my M.A. in Athletic Training or my PhD. in Physical Therapy. Of course these are subject to change because I’m just a freshman. It wasn’t until I got to college when I realized how many possibilities are out there as far as education and career goals. Family is also a big deal to me, so one thing I always tell everyone is how I want to start my own family with someone I love after my career is set.

3. Looking back at your Girl Scout experience, what stands out most to you?

When I look back on being a Girl Scout, I always see how people automatically respected me for how much I participated in my community. The things we did to change peoples’ lives was so inspiring,and I got a scholarship for my hard work as a Girl Scout. Hours of community service over the years as a scout pays off, and it felt good putting in those hours of work.

4. What do you feel is the most important quality in a leader? Why?

Being able to communicate well with others is the most important quality in a leader to me. I have seen leaders in society who are stuck up or do not appreciate others’ ideas, and that is the opposite of what I try to be. Yes, different opinions exist, but being able to get things done by appropriate communication is essential. Appreciate others, be sympathetic, put yourself out there, SMILE even when you’re down, and you will be a great leader.

Share Your Story

We would love to catch up with all recent Girl Scout Ambassadors! If you are one, or know one, send her name and email address to Allison Passon at AllisonP@GirlScoutsToday.org!

About Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois

We build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

