Meet our summer intern! A Girl Scout Close-Up

Meet Gabby Barillas, our Leadership Experience intern!

Tell us a little bit about yourself:

I am currently a psychology major at Clarke University in Dubuque, Iowa. After I graduate next May, I want to continue onto graduate school for a degree in Marriage and Family Therapy. My dream job would be working as a guidance counselor in an elementary or middle school. I absolutely love working with kids of all ages and their families, so this internship was perfect for me!

Were you ever a Girl Scout growing up?

I was not a Girl Scout growing up, but I’m only two weeks into this internship and I am definitely wishing I was! Girl Scouts has so many neat things to offer girls, especially in the way of opportunities for leadership, adventure, and learning new skills. I’ve already had a chance to volunteer at Family Camp Sampler at Camp Tahigwa and can’t wait to visit the other camps and share the outdoors with girls!

What are some of your favorite childhood memories spent outdoors?

My family went camping a lot growing up- learning how to build a fire and fish are practically embedded in my DNA! I loved snoozing under the stars and listening to all the “night sounds” you don’t get to experience sleeping indoors. One of our favorite camping spots is in Yellow River State Forest near Marquette, Iowa. It’s seriously one of the prettiest places I have ever been, especially in the fall when all the colors are booming!

What have you been working on recently as a part of your internship?

Lately I have been working on helping to develop program kits for the new activity center in Rock Island, Illinois. I’ve loved getting to sneak a peek at all the cool activities that Girl Scouts who visit the center will get to take part in- everything from making homemade ice cream in an “ice cream ball,” to learning about smoke blasters. Part of my internship involves pairing these kinds of hands-on activities with learning about science, which has been a fun, creative challenge so far!

Think this is neat? Share it with your friends!

About Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois

We build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

