Announcing President’s Award Recipients

It is with great pleasure that we announce a record setting 30 service units who are recipients of the President’s Award for 2012 – 2013. A service unit is a team of volunteers working together in a geographic area providing support to troop leaders, implementing local events, recruiting and retaining girl and adult members and promoting the mission of Girl Scouts within their community.

The President’s Award is given by the Girl Scouts of the USA to service units who work towards achieving pre-established goals during a Girl Scout year.  They have a highly functioning service unit team that work together to ensure Girl Scouts happens in their communities in a variety of ways and includes a diverse population.  They are exemplary in every way!

Please join us congratulating the following service units for their outstanding achievements in moving our council forward with our goals!

606 Waterloo
607 Orion
616 Winnesheik
624 Fayette County
626 Bremer County- Fairbank
760 Delaware County
803 Iowa County- Williamsburg/Victor/Marengo/North English
*806 Linn County- NW Cedar Rapids
*810 Linn County- SW Cedar Rapids
811 Linn County- Marion
*812 Linn County- Mount Vernon, Lisbon Springville
816 Johnson County- Coralville
819 Johnson County- Iowa City
821 Washington County
831 Jones County
*835 West Branch/Tipton/North Cedar County
*836 Muscatine County
838 Cedar County- Durant
*857 Scott County- Bettendorf
*858 Scott County- Pleasant Valley/LeClaire/Bettendorf
867 Rock Island County- East Moline
*870 Rock Island County- Rock Island
*871 Rock Island County- Rockridge
*877 Mercer County
*886 Henry County, IL- Geneseo
889 Henry County, IL- Kewanee
*897 Knox County
923 Henderson County
930 Des Moines County-Mediapolis
*940 Henry County- Mount Pleasant

Those marked with an asterisk are service units that have received the President’s award in past years since realignment.

Your service unit can earn the President’s Award too! Here are the criteria:

  • All service team members are registered Girl Scouts.
  • All service team members have met all requirements and expectation of the positions held.
  • The service team has significantly contributed to meeting one or more of the council’s mission-delivery goals.
  • The service team reflects the diversity of the target audience or area it serves, in girl and adult membership, in all ways Girl Scouts is offered.
  • The service team actively recognizes, understands, and practices the values of inclusive behavior.

About Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois

We build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in News, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Announcing President’s Award Recipients

  1. Karen Cripe says:

    Thank you for recognizing SU 812, however, we are Mount Vernon, Lisbon, Springville – not Ely.

    Karen Cripe, SUD – SU812

  2. Tina Ervin, exiting SUD SU 858 says:

    Agreed, very nice recognition. SU 858 is Pleasant Valley comprised of the towns LeClaire and part of Bettendorf.

  3. Sherry Garringer says:

    SU 803 is Williamsburg, Victor, Marengo, North English not Deep River

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s