A Girl Scout Close Up!

Meet Andrea Helgager, regional membership manager out of our Dubuque Area Leadership Center!

profile

What is your favorite color?  I don’t really have a favorite color… I like all colors!  Would that be rainbow?  Can I say that?  If I had to pick top two it would be green and purple.

What is your favorite food? I love sushi.  And spaghetti.  But not together.

What are you listening to right now?  A Jack Johnson song is playing from my playlist…

Why did you join Girl Scouts? As a girl, I was a Girl Scout because it was fun!  Now I’m working with Girl Scouts because, well it’s still fun, but also because I love the energy and strength that pours out when women and girls work together.  I know that if all women and girls could come together like so many of the troops in Girl Scouts do, we would change the world.

What do you like best about Girl Scouts? That Girl Scouting really does create leadership in girls, among other things.  All of the statistics about the impact of Girl Scouts is really impressive, and I appreciate that research.  It’s fun to share with parents.  As far as my job, I love going to the schools to talk to the girls—hearing about all of the things they like to do for fun and talking to them about Girl Scouts is awesome.

Why should girls join Girl Scouts?  Because it’s fun.  Duh.  :)  You can go on trips, and travelling is one of my favorite things; the camps are the best; and you get to hang out with your friends and those friends are with you for years.  Plus, the girls get a say in what they do.

What would you change about the world?  Girls would run it. End of story. Best world ever.  Actually, if I could change anything I would make it so everyone had a sense of compassion and responsibility for themselves and their neighbors.  If everyone had this I think we’d be pretty well off.

What do you want to be when you grow up?  An astronaut, photojournalist for National Geographic, or a storm chaser.

Why is it important for parents, guardians, grandparents, etc volunteer in their Girl Scout’s experience?  Because there really is no Girl Scouts without the parent volunteers!  They get the chance to really see the girls grow, and watch them put learned values into practice.  It’s pretty empowering.

About Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois

We build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Join and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

